High School Equivalence Tests in the United States: An Overview


Did you know that there are high school equivalence tests that can be taken to earn a diploma? These tests are designed for people who have not completed high school.

In this post, we will discuss the different types of high school equivalence tests, and how to go about preparing for them. We will also provide some tips for success! Read on to learn more.

What are High School Equivalency Exams?

High school equivalency exams are tests that measure whether an individual has the academic skills and knowledge equivalent to a high school graduate. These exams can be useful for individuals who did not complete high school or who want to improve their job prospects.

Most high school equivalency exams cover math, reading, writing, and science. Many states also offer additional assessments in social studies and civics.

The most popular high school equivalency exam is the GED, which is available in all 50 states. Students who pass a high school equivalency exam typically receive a certificate that shows they have achieved the same level of education as a high school graduate.

What types of high school equivalency exams are there in the USA?

There are several different types of high school equivalency exams available in the United States. The most common type is the General Educational Development (GED) test, which is administered by the American Council on Education (ACE). The GED test covers five main subject areas: reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies.

There is also the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC), which is offered by Data Recognition Corporation (DRC). The TASC test covers the same five subject areas as the GED test, but it is generally considered to be more challenging.

Finally, there is the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET), which is offered by Pearson Education. The HSET covers four subject areas: reading, writing, mathematics, and science. Whichever test you decide to take, make sure you are prepared so that you can earn your high school equivalency diploma.

Who are the High School Equivalency tests for?

The GED test is a journey that many people take to better their lives. The GED, or General Educational Development, test is for those who did not finish high school and want to get their diploma equivalency.

The GED covers five main subject areas: reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies. In order to pass, test-takers must score at least 145 on each section, for a total passing score of 580. There is no time limit for the test, but most people finish within 7 hours.

How should I prepare for the GED test?

There are a few different ways to prepare for the GED test. One option is to attend a GED class offered in your community. These classes usually last around 10 weeks and cover all of the material that will be on the test. If you cannot commit to a class, another option is to study on your own using a GED prep book or online resources.

For the HiSET and TSAC, both exams cover the same core subject areas, but the HiSET is a paper-and-pencil exam while the TSAC is a computer-based test. In order to prepare for either exam, students will need to brush up on their reading, writing, math, and science skills.

Additionally, it is important to familiarize yourself with the format of the exam and to practice taking sample questions under timed conditions. By taking the time to properly prepare, students can increase their chances of earning their high school equivalency diploma and achieving their educational goals.

Where can I complete my HiSET test?

The HiSET test is offered at a variety of locations across the United States. Test centers are typically located at community colleges, adult education programs, and some high schools. To find a test center in your area, you can use the search tool on the HiSET website.

When searching for a test center, be sure to select your state from the drop-down menu. You will then be given a list of all the authorized testing locations in your state. To ensure that you are able to take the HiSET test, it is important to register in advance which you can do online or by mail.

Once you have registered, you will receive a confirmation letter with instructions on how to schedule your testing appointment. When scheduling your appointment, you will need to select a date and time that works for you as well as a preferred testing location. Once you have completed all five sections of the HiSET test, your score report will be sent to the address you provided when you registered for the exam.

What subjects are covered in the HiSET test?

The HiSET test is a high school equivalency test that covers five subject areas: reading, writing, math, science, and social studies. The reading section includes questions about both informational and literary texts. The writing section assesses students' ability to write an essay on a given topic, as well as their knowledge of grammar and mechanics.

The math section covers a range of topics from basic arithmetic to algebra. The science section assesses students' understanding of scientific concepts, and the social studies section tests their knowledge of history, civics, and other social sciences.

Each section of the HiSET test is scored on a scale of 1-20, and students must achieve a score of at least 15 in each subject area to pass the test.

Who can take the HiSET test?

In order to take the HiSET test, individuals must be at least 16 years of age and not enrolled in high school. The HiSET test is recognized by all 50 states as an alternative to the GED. Each state has its own guidelines for who is eligible to take the HiSET exam, and some states also have additional requirements, such as taking a preparatory course or passing a practice test.

Can I use my GED Score to Get into College?

The GED is a high school equivalency exam that is accepted by most colleges and universities in the United States. If you have not completed high school, taking the GED and passing it with a score of at least 145 on each subject can give you the equivalent of a high school diploma. This means that you should be able to apply to any college or university as a regular student.

However, there are some things to keep in mind when using your GED score to apply to college. First, some colleges may require you to take additional tests, such as the SAT or ACT. Additionally, your GED score may not be enough on its own to get you into your first-choice school.

In general, the more competitive the school, the higher your test scores and grades will need to be. However, if you have a strong GED score, it should still give you a good chance of being accepted into most colleges and universities.

Which is hardest, the GED, HiSET or TASC?

The GED is generally considered to be the most difficult of the three tests. It covers more topics than the HiSET or TASC, and the questions are typically more challenging.

The HiSET is slightly easier than the GED, but it still covers a broad range of topics. The TASC is the easiest of the three tests, but it only covers core academic subjects like math, science, reading, and writing.